Sports Betting Menu
    14 June 2023

    Multi-pool Format to Revamp European Rugby Championships and Challenge Cups

    European Rugby Championships to Return to Multi-Pool Format for 2023-24 Season

    The European Rugby Champions and Challenge Cup competitions are set to return in a new multi-pool format for the upcoming season.

    Champions Cup: Top Teams from Three Competitions

    The Champions Cup will feature the top eight teams each from the United Rugby Championship, Premiership, and Top 14. In total, there will be twenty-four teams divided into four pools of six.


    This revised format comes after a pandemic-induced shift that saw each cup split into two leagues before reaching knockout stages last year.

    Challenge Cup: Eight URC Teams Take Part

    The Challenge Cup is contested by eight URC teams, six Top 14 sides, two Premiership clubs and two yet-to-be-revealed invited clubs – making eighteen teams in total who will compete in three pools of six.

    Note: The first round of fixtures begins on Friday, December 08th.

    EPCR has agreed with Premiership rugby, Ligue Nationale de Rugby (LNR), and URC about this revised format of the European Rugby Championships, which would take place at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium in May 2024. The format aims to provide opportunities for teams from different countries and leagues to compete against each other on a larger scale than before, adding depth and interest to the tournament.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *