Sports Betting Menu
    01 June 2023

    Taylor gets a call-up to Republic of Ireland squad for upcoming qualifiers against Greece and Gibraltar, while Ogbene is ruled out

    Republic of Ireland Squad Announced for Euro Qualifiers Against Greece and Gibraltar

    The Republic of Ireland has announced its squad for the upcoming Euro 2024 qualifiers against Greece and Gibraltar. The uncapped Peterborough midfielder, Jack Taylor, has earned his spot in the team after helping his team reach the League One play-off semi-final. Despite injury concerns from Alan Browne and Jeff Hendrick, they have both been included in the starting lineup.

    However, Chiedozie Ogbene will miss out on both games due to an ongoing hamstring problem. This news is a significant blow to Stephen Kenny’s side as Seamus Coleman, Andrew Omobamidele, and Callum Robinson are also unavailable for these critical matches.

    The Republic lost their opening qualifier to France at home but hope to bounce back with positive results away at Greece on June 16th followed by hosting Gibraltar three days later.

    Peterborough Midfielder Jack Taylor Earns First Call-up

    The promising midfielder has been rewarded for his exceptional form this season where he scored ten goals in 51 appearances before impressing Kenny during the recent training camp held in Bristol ahead of these crucial fixtures.

    Middlesbrough defender Darragh Lenihan and Celtic loanee Liam Scales also return to the squad while experienced quartet Shane Duffy, Robbie Brady Conor Hourihane & Enda Stevens missed out on selection entirely

    Kenny Aims For His First Major Tournament With A Strong Rebuilt Side

    This opportunity marks a chance at history-making as Stephen Kenny tries leading Ireland into their first major tournament since taking over as coach last April. To achieve that goal will require picking up points against two rivals who cannot be underestimated.

    The squad will travel to Turkey next week for a nine-day training camp in Antalya before the Greece game in Athens.

    Republic of Ireland Squad List

    • Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Southampton), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (Bournemouth)
    • Defenders: Matt Doherty (Atletico Madrid), Mark Sykes (Bristol City), Callum O’Dowda (Cardiff City), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Nathan Collins(Wolves) , John Egan(Sheffield United) Dara O’Shea(West Bromwich Albion) , Darragh Lenihan(Middlesbrough) & Liam Scales(Celtic).
    • Midfielders: Josh Cullen(Burnley) , Jayson Molumby(West Bromwich Albion) , Jeff Hendrick(Reading) , Alan Browne(Preston North End) , Will Smallbone(Southampton) , Jason Knight(Derby County) , Jamie McGrath(Wigan Athletic) and Jack Taylor(Peterborough United).
    • Forwards: Adam Idah(Norwich City), Michael Obafemi(Burnley)\, Evan Ferguson(Brighton)% ​ , Troy Parrott(Tottenham Hotspur)\, Mikey Johnston(Vitoria de Guimaraes, on loan from Celtic).’


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *